About Us
Board of Trustees

Mrs. Francesca Y. Emanuel (CON)

Mrs. Francesca Y. Emanuel (CON)

She was appointed the first Female Nigerian Administrative Officer of the Federal Public Service of Nigeria (7thNovember, 1959) and the first Female Permanent Secretary of the Federal Public Service (1st July, 1975).

Mrs. Emanuel served as the Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Health and the following Ministries: Cabinet Office, Public Service Department: July, 1975 – April, 1977; Federal Ministry of Establishment: April, 1977 – October, 1979; and several other Federal Ministries.

She has served in the following areas: Commissioner of the United Nations International Civil Service Commission (1989 – 1992); Director, Board of Macmillan Nigeria Publishers Limited (1991 – till date); Member of Lagos State University Visitation Panel (1992); Director, Board of Ecobank Nigeria Plc (1998 – 2004); Chairman of the 2nd National Film Festival Organising Committee (2002 – 2003); Director, Ecobank Foundation (2005 – 2008); Member of the National Political Reform Conference (2005); Vice Chairman of Presidential Committee on the Review of Reform Process in the Nigeria Public Service (2011 – 2012).

She is a Member & Trustee of the Governing Council of the Nigeria Conservative Foundation (1990 till date); Member of the Fundraising Committee of the Nigeria Sickle Cell Foundation (1997); President of the Executive Board of Nigerian Heart Foundation (2016 till date); Trustee of the Nigeria Environmental Study & Action Team (1998 till date).

She received Most Distinguished University of Ibadan Alumna Award for Excellence in Service to Humanity (2000); Commander of the Order of the Niger National Award (2000).

Prof. Oladipo Olujimi Akinkugbe

Prof. Oladipo Olujimi Akinkugbe

Past President

Professor Oladipo Olujimi Akinkugbe CON, MD, FAS, Emeritus Professor of Medicine, University of Ibadan, attended Government College Ibadan (1946-51), University College Ibadan (now University of Ibadan) (1951-55), University of London (1955-58), University of Liverpool (1960), and Oxford University (1962-64). He became Professor of Medicine, University of Ibadan (1968); Dean of Medicine (1970-74); Visiting Professor of Medicine at Harvard (1974-75); Oxford (1981-82) and Cape Town (1995); Principal, then Vice Chancellor, University of Ilorin (1975-78); Vice Chancellor, Ahmadu Bello University (1978-79); Secretary to the WHO Technical Discussions on University and Health for All, Geneva (1983-84); Pro-Chancellor, University of Port Harcourt (1986-90); Member WHO Advisory Committee on Health for Research (1990-94); Foundation Chair, Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board (JAMB) and Chairman, University College Hospital, Ibadan (2000-2003).

He is a member of various international medical and scientific panels, and author of many papers on hypertension and renal diseases in national and international journals. In 1989 he received the Searle Distinguish Research Award for his contributions to hypertension in black populations and in 2004, the Boehringer Ingelheim Award of the International Society of Hypertension. He is a recipient of the Nigerian National Order of Merit Award, and the National Honor of Cote De Voire. He was made Hon. Fellow of Balliol College, Oxford University in 2009 and has Honorary Doctorate from six Nigerian universities including Ibadan.


  1. Mrs. Francesca Y. Emanuel (CON) – President Board of Trustees
  2. Professor Abdul-Fatai Mabadeje – Vice President Board of Trustees
  3. Professor Oladipo Akinkugbe – Past President Board of Trustees
  4. Dr. Kingsley Akinroye – Member Board of Trustees
  5. Mallam Ismaila Shuaibu – Member Board of Trustees
  6. Engineer Oluyomi Adeyemi-Wilson – Member Board of Trustees
  7. Professor Osaretin Odia – Member Board of Trustees
  8. Mallam Bashiru Tukur – Member Board of Trustees
  9. Professor Basden Onwubere – Member Board of Trustees
  10. Mallam Bashir El-Rufail – Member Board of Trustees
  11. Mr. Emmanuel Nwanze – Member Board of Trustees
  12. Prof. Hilda O. Okojie – Member Board of Trustees